Oh the Priorities

What 5 things would you choose to have if you were stranded on a desert island?? It’s a question as old as desert islands are and the subject of much chagrin amongst cynics. I’m taking on this question under the assumption that these five items are luxuries and the essentials for survival are all available in one form or another around the island. Here it goes: My Desert Island Inventory!

1. The Hardcover Box Set of The Harry Potter Series

The one that comes in the cardboard trunk. No, it’s not cheating this is one item that just so happens to have seven parts. It’s a long series that’s one of my favorites with a whole hell of a lot of rereading and nostalgia potential. Would I get sick of them eventually?? Maybe, but until then I’d have hours and hours entertainment. There are loads of other books I’d want, but these are the priority.

2. Paper and Pens

A shitload of them. I could never be stranded anywhere without a way to write and keep it together. Who knows, all the handwriting might improve my penmanship to the point where normal folks would be able to read it when a ship eventually finds my little haven.

3. A Spice Rack

As I said above, I’m assuming this island has what I need to survive including a way to get simple, sustainable, survival food. Shepherd Book from Firefly put it best: “The important thing is the spices. A man can live on packaged food from here ’til Judgment Day if he’s got enough rosemary.” Now I’m not expecting the island to be stocked with packaged food, but if I’m going to make bunny stew I’m going to season it right dammit!

4. Shoes

Not a thing essential for survival, so therefore the island would probably lack them, but they’re important enough that I wouldn’t want to be caught without them. They’d make moving through the forest at least a little bit safer. At the very least I wouldn’t slice my foot up on a bad ridge of stone or something.

5. My Medication

Yeah, I’m taking a bit of a liberty with this one. I’d have a supply of Lamictal large enough to sustain me for an indefinite amount of time. Why?? Because no matter where or when I am, I still have Bipolar Disorder. It’s a part of my life and identity and it’s something that NEEDS some form of management.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Oh the Priorities

  1. Pingback: Five items to bring to a deserted island | Words 'n Pics

  2. afsheenanjum says:

    Good … 2 things in common .. knife and medicine :)

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Five Items | On My Front Porch

  4. Pingback: Stranded on a Deserted Island? | Cheri Speak

  5. Pingback: What Five Things Would You Not Want? (This Prompt Is Stupid) | The Jittery Goat

  6. Pingback: Necessities | Manresa, Maine

  7. afsheenanjum says:

    Then its only one thing in common :P

  8. Pingback: Surfer Rob: King of the Island! | Rob's Surf Report

  9. Pingback: Thousand – No, Five Island | Edward Hotspur

  10. Pingback: Five items | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

Leave a Reply

